Coco Garden Bungalows in Bantai are reasonably cheap at 450 thb for a night and have lots of good reviews from travellers who have stayed there.

Here are a selection of reviews from people who have stayed at Coco Bungalows in Bantai.

There is only one word to describe our time at coco gardens and that is awesome!!! Service was perfect, all the staff there are really nice and helpful. Food was great, cocktails were great, and the fry up in the morning went some way to curing our hangovers :). We will come back one day....

Keely and Phil  - Jan 10th 2010

Coco Gardens by far is one of the best places to stay on the west side of Thailand. The staff are so helpful and the rooms are of a high standard. I stayed for 10 days over Christmas and wished I could have stayed for more. You d be mad not to try this little gem out. Room 101 is the aircon ed top bungalow and well worth the price. Ady. Lee and Thai the owners cannot make you feel more welcome. Try it and see. Happy holidays.

Tompkins - December 30th 2009

the bungalows are great, you step off your balcony and you are on the beach. The room is simple, but sturdy, clean and well kept. the restaurant serves amazing (and cheap) food from 8-10. the beach bar is the place to be at night if you want to escape the lunacy at Haad Rin, the local bar flies make for entertainment and good conversation and the owners (Adrian and Lee) make excellent drinking buddies (If you can keep up with you). I would highly recommend Coco Gardens to anyone, whether you are full mooning or not. Just far enough away from Haad Rin to not goet bothered or robbed but to still have some amazing night life. Lek also makes the best Mai Tais on the island! Cheers Guys, see you again soon!

Samuel Hughes - September 8th 2009

I went to Coco Garden with my wife and a friend of ours for two nights - to attend the Half Moon Party. We were so pleased with our choice. The air conditioned bungalows we stayed in were clean, charming and simply furnished. Exactly what we needed and had hoped for. The rest of the resort was a delight. The staff are just lovely and the beachfront bar was a great place to congregate and loosen up before the party with a few cocktails and beers. The restaurant served yummy Thai food with a smile and the setting was just beautiful. I guess, as others have mentioned, the beach was a bit of a letdown but not such a big deal that I would not stay here again. Apparently the tidal problem only happens a few weeks of the year and honestly, it didn t bother us that much. A great resort on a lovely island - we will definitely return. Thanks Adrian, Lee, Tai and all the other great people running the place. David, Chryss and Gill.

David Bamford - June 16th 2009

The location is great. Staff is vey pleasant and the restaurant provides good food in a very pleasant setting. The rooms (we had a fan room facing the beach) was very basic but perfect for a place to sleep. A fridge is the room will be nice. Will stay at Coco Gardens again. 

Dave Engelbrecht - South Africa March 19th 2009

All the other reviews I have found of Coco Garden Bungalows in Bantai have been similarly glowing. They obviously provide good service on a great beach. To book a bungalow at Coco Garden Bungalows online go to Phangan
The reviews are generally good for the Mandalai Hotel in Chaloklum. It is branded as a boutique hotel. It is a small hotel with cout yard and swimming pool. Next door is the Sheesha Bar and Restaurant that serves the usual mix of Thai and Western cuisine. It is a mid-range option.

Some people love the traditional feel of Chaloklum as a working fishing village. Others find it a bit noisy, smelly and busy with traffic going up and down the road. It is really a matter of how isolated and remote you want your beach. If you want really remote try Haad Yuan, Than Sadet or Haad Khom.

Anyway below are a number of reviews of Mandalai Hotel in Chaloklum. They have not been edited.

We had planned to spend our honeymoon at the mandalai hotel, so our expectations were higher than usual. But as we visited the hotel in advance we decided to cancel our stay. So we can t say anything about the hotel, rooms and service itself. The reason we cancelled is because the hotel is located directly at the main village road (2 meters from street to the reception desk...) and the inner courtyard where the pool is located is open to one side. At that side all the people passing the hotel to reach the beach can watch inside the courtyard through a wire-mesh fence. Just behind the hotel is the boat pier of chalok lam. So it is to be expected to have a lot of busy and loud boat traffic.

Tim Werner -  September 2009

For the second time we stay to Mandalay hotel and we enjoy as the first time. In a peaceful village a white house in front of beach with a sheesha bar , like an old Chinese house but decorated in a modern style. very nice rooms and the best is the staff so kindly.

Ferrand - August 2009

Staff were very friendly and helpful and staff who cleaned the rooms did a good job. Hotel was always nicely presented and clean. However, on the first day i requested staff ensure there were enough umbrellas on the beachside deck for all and that never happened so on occasions we couldnt go down and lie on the deck as not enough shade. Sheesha restaurant service was fast and food was nice and room service was also good. Portions could have been larger though and the milk in the morning for breakfast was warm and should have been cold. Transfer charged to pick up and drop to the pier for the boat should have been free or less than the 400 Baht charged since it was staff doing the driving. For the transfer to the full moon party, most people had to sit in the back tray section of the car and while this is acceptable for locals this was totally unacceptable for foreigners and women especially and i know that many people were offended and greatly surprised by this action. Plus the cost since there was so many in only one car should have been discounted. Also if more foreign TV channels were available that would have been even better. Hot water in the shower was usually not hot enough and should be fixed. Overall i enjoyed my stay and appreciated the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff! Was plenty to do nearby the hotel if desired or could just lie around the pool and beach.

Craig MacDonald - September 2008

The hotel is fine but far from being a luxury hotel as it is said on several internet sites. The beach in front of the hotel is a little dirty with the hotel s sewer that flows in the water (despite of asking us to keep towels several days for the environment !!). The hotel's restaurant is very expensive and the breakfast could be better.

Coiffard - August 2008

Small hotel with about 12 rooms. I think the smallness made it more welcoming and you knew all the staff. One of the best places i have stayed and i have stayed in quite a few 5 stars. Sea view room/suite was excellent with all comforts. With views over the bay the corner jacuzzi was a treat. Not too close too Full moon party but easily reachable.

Tariq Asfar - May 2008

The best rates to book a room online at the Mandalai Hotel in Chaloklum is found at